Fatal

I’m afraid of the dark. I’m afraid of the things it can hide. I’m afraid to face any unknown that lurk in it. I haven’t gone beyond any form of fear I can’t tolerate. Every time I need to confront a noise or possibly a bizarre appearance, I always shut my eyes till it goes away.

I hate that feeling of pain that comes with sadness. It’s a rabbit hole I never go down. A down ward spiral of misery, numbness and hopelessness, they would say. A state that could draw out any light or happiness from someone’s fragile beating heart. Down, down, down, it would go. But I would always stop myself. When my father died and that feeling started to creep on me, I ran till my lungs burn. I laughed until I forgot what happened.

I had never experienced too much happiness. I couldn’t figure out what would make someone divinely  blissful, anyway. I couldn’t imagine what my state would be after I am too elated. I had no idea what will make of me after my heart burst of over joy.

I was safe within the confinements of my boundaries. I was in control with what I felt.

Until I met you.

I was in a party, lightly buzzed. When I was about to start my internal debate of whether I had pushed myself too far, you came into view and started a conversation. I looked up to into your eyes and I wanted to turn the other way and run. The sensation that you ignited within me was beyond tolerable.  A mixture of fear, anxiety and curiosity, almost convulsed from my beating heart. You had to understand. I had all my emotions controlled before I saw you. Before I looked into your eyes.

Your eyes… Your eyes…

1 year, 3 months, 2 weeks, 5 days and 2 hours later: you had me at your disposal. In your hand was my heart,  beating but.. about to be broken.

I forgot all my efforts to stay away from anything I was afraid of while I was with you. I forgot to keep my walls up. I forgot to be bounded within my confinements. I forgot I didn’t want to know how it feels to die.

And not just a little.. A life changing, wrenching, soul numbing death. I didn’t knew I had it coming.

I looked you in the eye. Your tear-soaked eyes. You were shivering . You’re breathe were short, rough as if gasping for life. You then looked unto your hand where my heart was. Beating. Slowly and heavily.

You closed your palms and crushed it.

Leave a Reply

